CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED/ ROUTINE R 011341Z MAY 25 MID120001911904U FM CNO WASHINGTON DC TO NAVADMIN INFO CNO WASHINGTON DC BT UNCLAS

NAVADMIN 098/25

MSGID/NAVADMIN/CNO WASHINGTON DC/N2N6/APRIL//

SUBJ/2025 NAVAL INTELLIGENCE COMMUNITY AWARDS SOLICITATION (CORRECTED COPY)//

REF/A/DOC/OPNAV/06DEC17// REF/B/DOC/COMNAVIFORES/21DEC18//

NARR/REF A IS OPNAVINST 1650.26E, NAVAL INTELLIGENCE AWARDS PROGRAM. REF B IS COMNAVIFORESINST 1650.4Q, POLICY AND PROCEDURES GOVERNING MILITARY AWARDS AND RECOGNITION PROGRAM.//

RMKS/1. The Naval Intelligence Awards Program recognizes excellence and outstanding achievement in the Naval Intelligence community. This NAVADMIN solicits nominations on accomplishments from calendar year 2024 (1 January 2024 through 31 December 2024) for consideration. The award types and eligibility criteria is as follows:

a. Rear Admiral Thomas A. Brooks Intelligence Junior Officer of the Year Award (IJOY) recognizes junior officers for their leadership, performance, special accomplishments, and overall contribution to command efficiency, morale, and welfare while serving on both sea and shore duty. Active and Reserve Component Naval Intelligence Officers (183X) O-1 through O-3 are eligible to compete for this award. Two Active or Reserve Component junior officers will be selected for this award, one each for the sea duty and shore duty categories.

b. Commander Dan F. Shanower Intelligence Specialist of the Year Award (ISOY) recognizes junior and senior Intelligence Specialists for their performance, leadership, special accomplishments, and overall contribution to command efficiency, morale, and welfare. Active and Reserve Component Intelligence Specialists in pay grades E-1 through E-5 are eligible to compete for the Junior Intelligence Specialist of the Year award. Active and Reserve Component Intelligence Specialists in pay grade E-6, including those frocked to E-6 during the eligibility period, are eligible to compete for the Senior Intelligence Specialists will be selected for this award, one each for the Junior and Senior Intelligence Specialist of the Year.

c. Vice Admiral Rufus L. Taylor Award for Leadership recognizes leadership from deserving Active or Reserve Component officer, enlisted, or civilian personnel who exemplify excellence and exceptional dedication to duty within the Naval Intelligence community. Active Naval Intelligence Officers (183X) in grades O-4 through O-6, Intelligence Chief Warrant Officers (CWO) (783X) in grades CWO-3 through CWO-5, Intelligence Specialists in grades E-7 through E-9, and civilians GG-13 through GG-15 (or equivalent) are eligible. The Reserve Component applications, process, and timeline will be in accordance with reference (b). One Active Component servicemember or a civilian will be selected for this award. d. Vice Admiral Rufus L. Taylor Award for Excellence in Intelligence Instruction recognizes intelligence instructors who embody the time-honored principles that VADM Taylor exemplified throughout his career: desire for professional knowledge, intellectual curiosity, initiative, enthusiasm, ability to command respect and motivate others, devotion to duty, effective communication skills, and personal and intellectual integrity. Active and Reserve Component U.S. Navy and U.S. Marine Corps servicemembers serving as instructors, faculty, or staff at Information Warfare Training Command (IWTC) Virginia Beach and IWTC San Diego are eligible. Two candidates will be selected for this award, one each from IWTC Virginia Beach and IWTC San Diego.

e. Rear Admiral Edwin T. Layton Award for Leadership and Mentorship recognizes outstanding leadership and mentorship in the furtherance of Naval Intelligence performance. Active and Reserve Component Naval Intelligence Officers (183X) in grades O-4 through O-6, Intelligence CWOs (783X) in grades CWO-3 through CWO-5, and Intelligence Specialists in grades E-6 through E-9 are eligible. There is no set number of awards to be given each year.

f. Herman Dworkin Award for Maritime Analytic Excellence recognizes a civilian or military analyst working maritime issues who exemplifies the work ethic and attitude of Mr. Dworkin: analytic expertise, strength of character, initiative, industriousness, and exactitude. Active and Reserve Component Naval Intelligence Officers (183X) in grades O-3 through O-5, Intelligence CWOs (783X) in grades CWO-2 through CWO-5, and civilians GG-12 through GG-14 (or equivalent) are eligible. Nominees must have at least ten years of experience in the field of maritime intelligence analysis and be currently analytically active. One candidate will be selected for this award.

2. Nominations must be submitted no later than 16 June 2025 to the links below based on individual award type. Do not include social security numbers, sensitive Personally Identifiable Information, fitness reports/evaluations, awards, or classified information in nomination packages. Incomplete packages or packages failing to meet all guidance as outlined in this message and reference (a) will not be considered. Citations and 1650s will be created and routed by the Naval Intelligence Activity Human Capital Department (NIA N1) upon announcement results.

a. Brooks IJOY Award:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/y8Xags8y v5Fs8EVH-U4sg
b. Shanower ISOY Award:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/bA2ViZ1guGSbmXkqkd2X1w c. Taylor Award for Leadership:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/qMyPaQoMRc1IZVMoM2p_bA d. Taylor Award for Excellence in Intelligence Instruction:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/n5zfwhsky15gPoNvIhD-90 e. Layton Award for Leadership and Mentorship:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/crFEgTH_ecq2iXUfaCaN9w f. Herman Dworkin Award for Maritime Analytic Excellence:

https://navyintel.yello.co/app/collect/event/wjxTSHxaVIhpdrU6Rbg7Nw

3. Point of Contact: NIA-N1/EMAIL: NAVINTELCOMMUNITYAWARDS(AT)US.NAVY.MIL

4. Released by VADM Karl O. Thomas, Deputy Chief of Naval Operations for Information Warfare, OPNAV N2N6.//

BT #0001 NNNN

CLASSIFICATION: UNCLASSIFIED/